Cast your nominations for the ACM Turing Award

A public service announcement to my fellow computer scientists, techies and other interested parties, on behalf of the Association for Computing Machinery:

ACM Bulletin Service Today’s Topic: ACM Awards Call for Nominations September 4, 2008

Each year, ACM recognizes technical and professional achievements within the computing and information technology community through its celebrated Awards Program. And annually, ACM’s award committees evaluate the contributions of candidates for various awards that span a spectrum of professional and technological accomplishments.

You and your colleagues are invited to nominate candidates for ACM awards, including:

Awards with November 30, 2008 nomination deadlines

A.M. Turing Award
ACM – Infosys Foundation Award in the Computing Sciences
ACM/AAAI Allen Newell Award
Software System Award
Grace Murray Hopper Award
Paris Kanellakis Theory and Practice Award
Karl V. Karlstrom Outstanding Educator Award
Distinguished Service Award
ACM – IEEE CS Eckert-Mauchly Award
Outstanding Contribution to ACM Award

Awards with September 30, 2008 nomination deadlines

The SIAM/ACM Prize in Computational Science and Engineering
Doctoral Dissertation Award

Please take a moment to consider those individuals in your community who may be suitable for nomination, and feel free to share this information with your colleagues and peers.

Read a letter from ACM’s Award Co-chairs on the importance of ACM Award Nominations

Learn more about ACM Award Nominations

Visit the ACM Awards site

Z Trek Copyright (c) Alan Zeichick